# Exploring the Activation Screen

The Freemius SDK comes with an Activation screen which is displayed depending on the type of users, namely:

* [Opt-in screen](#opt-in-screen) for free users
* [License activation screen](#license-activation-screen) for premium users.

This screen is essential in the process to get consent for collecting information related to your product usage when installed on your customer's site.

## License Activation Screen[​](#license-activation-screen "Direct link to License Activation Screen")

The Freemius WordPress SDK displays a license activation screen for the premium version when the product is installed and activated.

This behavior is expected since the premium version requires a license key to be activated, and the screen is designed to prompt users to enter their license key to activate the premium features of the product.

After a license key is entered and the premium features of the product are activated, the screen will not appear again.

![Freemius WordPress Plugin License Activation](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-wordpress-plugin-license-activation.cfcc5b6.480.png)

tip

As the product owner, you can generate a license key for testing purposes by following the steps outlined in our [Testing documentation](https://freemius.com/help/help/documentation/wordpress-sdk/testing/.md#generating-a-license-key-for-testing).

## Opt-In Screen[​](#opt-in-screen "Direct link to Opt-In Screen")

This is the default opt-in screen shown in the free version of your product.

![Freemius WordPress SDK - Plugin Opt-In](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-wordpress-plugin-opt-in.0c89781.480.png)

Users have the option to fully or partially skip sharing the information and to opt in to share data with Freemius. For this, the user can:

* **Fully Skip**: sharing any info by clicking the "Skip" button.

* **Fully Allow**: sharing all collected info by immediately clicking the "Allow & Continue" button. This includes information like their basic profile, website and product information plus info related to the themes and plugins on the site.

* **Partially Allow**: sharing some collected info by clicking the "This will allow `{product name}` to" link at the bottom of the dialog box. Toggle off some option, then click the "Allow & Continue" button.

  This will expand the screen revealing the options for information that will be shared. Only the information info related to the themes and plugins on the site can be toggled off.

  ![Freemius WordPress SDK - Plugin Opt-In](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-wordpress-plugin-opt-in-expanded.e39a337.480.png)

## Reset the Opt-In Screen[​](#reset-the-opt-in-screen "Direct link to Reset the Opt-In Screen")

After opting in or skipping the process, the screen will not appear again.

### Reset Opt-in via Plugins Page[​](#reset-opt-in-via-plugins-page "Direct link to Reset Opt-in via Plugins Page")

Using the plugins page, users can opt-in and opt-out of Freemius at any time. These are Opt-in and Opt-out buttons that enable users to change their status.

![Freemius WordPress Admin - opt in screen reset](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-wp-admin-opt-in-out-reset.4fc5fbd.480.png)

When these links are clicked, the corresponding screen pops up again to allow users to change their opt-in status.

![Freemius WordPress Admin - opt in reset popup screen](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-wp-admin-opt-in-out-reset-popup.4a77de0.480.png)

Alternatively, product users can also reset the opt-in screen to appear again by following the steps below:

### Reset Opt-in after Opting in[​](#reset-opt-in-after-opting-in "Direct link to Reset Opt-in after Opting in")

To display the opt-in screen after opting in initially, you will need to [delete the installation from Freemius](https://freemius.com/help/help/documentation/wordpress-sdk/features/wp-admin-account/.md#deactivate-a-license-from-the-website) under the **Account** submenu item.

![Freemius SDK - Account Details submenu item](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-sdk-account-submenu-item.3470511.480.png)

### Reset Opt-in after Skipping[​](#reset-opt-in-after-skipping "Direct link to Reset Opt-in after Skipping")

To display the opt-in screen after skipping it initially, follow these steps:

1. Enable the [Freemius debugging](https://freemius.com/help/help/documentation/wordpress-sdk/debugging/.md) page.
2. Then clear Freemius data in the admin dashboard by selecting the **Delete All Accounts** button.

![Freemius SDK debug screen](/help/assets/ideal-img/freemius-sdk-development-mode-wp-admin-menu-item.81b9077.480.png)

## Customizations[​](#customizations "Direct link to Customizations")

Since every plugin or theme is unique, you may want to customize the opt-in screen to better match your product's style/tone/brand and audience. You can leverage one or more of the opt-in actions and filters hooks for the [customization of these screens](https://freemius.com/help/help/documentation/wordpress-sdk/customization/opt-in-screen/.md) documentation.
